Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge, Blitz Sessions review (2020)

Blitz Sessions is like a healing treatment, a therapy from the post-rock instrumentalists Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge.

“Instrumental love-letters to arctic ecosystems” is the entire entry in the ABOUT section of the band’s Facebook page. Brief and to the point. I can’t think of a better one line summary of this young Norwegian band’s sound. I lived in Alaska for ten years and I have been to the namesake site. This music would absolutely fit in there.

Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge is a five-piece band: Karl Løftingsmo Pedersen, Gunnar Christian Blix, Eivind André Imingen, Joakim Storeide, and Bjørn Trygve Skjerstad. The music relies heavily on synthesizers and steady guitar insinuations and pleas. Think Godspeed You! Black Emperor and you will be on the right track. Long passages with subtle variation or repetition and returning musical themes are the mainstay. There are three long pieces with one of them being split in two so count four if you like at seven+ minutes each – long enough to lull you. The music is like salve in that way that can be applied lightly (in the background while you are doing something else) or more liberally and with determination if you are looking for the somber tones to draw your daily anguish out of your mind like a slowly ebbing tide.

Out on Friday August 21, there is a cassette available at Bandcamp as well as the download option. I do not listen to this kind of music all the time, but when I want to hear it, this is what I am looking for.





Yukon Delta National Wildlife Refuge, Blitz Sessions review (2020)