Machinist! ~ Dead Hand, Split (Nefarious Industries 2021)

Dead Hand and Machinist! join forces to produce a hammerfall split that will leave your ears ringing.

Machinist! is a high-test metal band with a gravely disposition and clobbering attitude. The band – Jeff Hill (vocals), Jeremy McGuire (drums), Matt Marshall (guitar), and Matt Zagorski (bass) – offer two songs on the split. The first one opens with the flick of a Zippo then proceeds to tear down the tin shack with fearsome aggression in “Bask In The White Light.” The song bends to doom in the second half and finishes with noise. “The Nail” has a slower beginning but has just as much shouting. Never fear, they do wail on you and the tempo becomes clompy with a punk sneer before the wrap.


Dead Hand is a doom operation peopled by Clifton Carr (guitar and vocals), Shannon Harris (synth and vocals), Stephen Williams (guitar and vocals), Carson Pace (drums), and Andrew Seth (bass). Their track is “Muirgeilt” and it flows over you for almost eight minutes like thick cement laced with sharp, rusty pieces of steel. You feel a filtered gothic atmosphere, an overriding sense of decadence and, especially in the middle, inevitable suffocation. It is a terrorizing piece that conjures calamity.

Dead Hand

These three songs taken together are a menace to your sanity. The styles are very different and the complement each other. Recommended.

Friday March 19th is the release day, and with a digital preorder you can hear two out of the three tracks now. Bandcamp is the easy hook-up.

Dead Hand photo by Dakota Williams.

Machinist! Photo by Matt Zagorsky.


Machinist! Bandcamp,

Dead Hand Bandcamp,

Machinist! Facebook,

Dead Hand Facebook,


Machinist! ~ Dead Hand, Split (Nefarious Industries 2021)

Psychosomatic, The Invisible Prison review (Nefarious Industries 2020)

Sacramento Thrash Metal band Psychosomatic roll out lucky number seven, The Invisible Prison.

There should be more Thrash, I think. The heavy music landscape has tilted toward Doom and Death over the past many years. Thrash is still out there, though, alive and well and personified by bands like Exodus, Testament, [insert your favorite Thrash bands here], and Psychosomatic who keep putting out great music. This band has been around for more than thirty years, and they are just as fierce as ever. The lineup is founder Jeff Salgado (bass, lead vocals), Daniel Mills (guitars, vocals), Viktor Hansen (guitars, vocals), and Toby Swope (drums).

The album is twelve towering tracks, starting with “We Don’t Trust You,” which is enough to make me remember this one forever. You know it is all fast, loud, and thrumming, with the pedal to the floor all the way through so I don’t have to tell you that. Picking over the songs for highlights is something of a chore because of the solid nature of the entire set. Along with the opener, the title track stands out as being to most frenetic of the bunch in both rhythm and lead. It’ll ring your ears. There is an excellent cover of the Vio-lence song “Serial Killer” which is not to be missed – Decibel magazine is premiering that track so you can hear it in advance of the album’s release if you head over to their website. “Agents of Surveillance” is the shortest song and it might also be the most savage in a stabby kind of way. When you listen to the album you will find your own favorites and make a list to add to your saved songs on Spotify. It is going to raise your blood pressure.

August 28th is the drop date for The Invisible Prison with all the usual attributes of download, physicals, and bundles at Bandcamp and the Nefarious Industries sites. Trust might be thin on the ground but this album is a thrash-fest guarantee. Recommended.

Band photo by Michael Alvarez.


Psychosomatic, The Invisible Prison review (Nefarious Industries 2020)

Titan To Tachyons, Cactides review (Nefarious Industries 2020)

If you are looking for music that sounds like the inside of a crashing spaceship if the entire crew was blasted on edibles as the impact approached, you have found it.

This might not actually be improvisational jazz, but it certainly sounds and feels like it. Titan To Tachyons is a NYC band centered around guitarist Sally Gates who, along with Matt Hollenberg and Kenny Grohowski, endanger your piece of mind with their music.

The press release describes the group as an “avant/instrumental metal trio.” Their Bandcamp page describes the band as a “new trio” and their music as “Instrumentally depicting the realms of surrealistic sci-fi, the band make use of angular and experimental passages, juxtaposed by fluid grooves and metallic flurries.” The Facebook genre is “Prog/Experimental/Metal.” So what is going on here? I think people are going to have a very individualized experience listening to this music. For me it lights up my dysphoric madness receptors and I enjoy the chaos and Les Claypoolesque clankiness that shows up regularly. What I am not hearing is the metal. You have to listen very hard for the metal. Fuzzy tones do pop in now and then with the fluid and delightful guitar work, and there is a crunchy riff there and again, but the chaotic avant-garde is front and center – it is most definitely piloting this vessel.

The songs have a gravitational center around the guitar, but not necessarily a geographic one. There are a lot of ideas at play, yet you can detect patterns if you are looking for them. Alternately, you can just let this all flow over you and do what it does. In fact, that is the better idea – let the music do what it does.

Cactides is out on Friday, August 14 on LP and digital. You can stream two tracks right now, and there is some merch to snag, if you like. My advice is listen to some of this on Spotify or the like first and see what you think. If it is your thing, kick some cash in at Bandcamp. Recommended for the adventure.

Band photo by Karen Jerzyk.


Titan To Tachyons, Cactides review (Nefarious Industries 2020)